To grief or not to grief

Welcome to the twentieth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

With the recent completion of the 3rd installment of the Hulkageddon last month, @CyberinEVE, author of Hands Off, My Loots!, asks: ”Griefing is a very big part of EVE.  Ninja Salvaging, Suicide Ganking, Trolling, and  Scamming are all a very large part of the game.  What do you think about all these things?  You can talk about one, or all…but just let us know your overall opinion on Griefing, and any recommendations you may have to change it if you think it’s needed.”

Like many of the responses to the latest blog banter, the first question I had to answer was “what exactly constitutes griefing?” What we do at PANIC is certainly not your usual suicide ganking, and we don’t do it solely to cause tears from other players, funny though they are. Instead we do it to do something different, for fun, and for that healthy bit of smacktalk IQ likes to get involved with. Our, arguably, infamous forms are pretty funny to invent, and it’s funny to read some of the responses we get.

My own title in the corporation, and it’s something I like to stick to, is “the nice one.” I pvp, and you will see my sec status isn’t exactly great, but I don’t consider myself a pirate. I occasionally lurk the help channel on occasion, and being a self confessed evehq-warrior I usually have a template fit if someone asks for one in our channels, even though its usually poor…

It is this that makes me believe that there are actually very few griefers in EVE. That is, people that actually play the game to ruin someones day. Many of us may inadvertently do this while looking for some fun, but I know I speak for many when I say it’s not uncommon for me to have a nice chat with someone I’ve just killed, or been killed by. Part of the allure of EVE is that it is truely persistant, and your mistakes count for a lot. If someone is scammed from their ISK or assets, they probably are not going to see them again any time soon. A bit of common sense goes a long way, though a fellow blogger once said it seems that all common sense is left at the door when someone logs in to EVE, and that probably more true than it should be in my case.

In this cold and unforgiving universe , we’re not all cut throat inhumane monsters, despite what we may want you to believe… Although there are those sitting at their computers like this, I wouldn’t consider it griefing.

Trolololol

~ by Ranger Alitur on August 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
